Longer Tables with José Andrés
Longer Tables with José Andrés
Ron Howard: How food saved my movie career. Plus José whips up marinated olives and answers your questions
10
0:00
-31:22

Ron Howard: How food saved my movie career. Plus José whips up marinated olives and answers your questions

Episode 3 of Longer Tables is here.
10

A couple years ago, I picked up the phone and it was Ron Howard on the other end. He said he wanted to make a movie about World Central Kitchen. My first question was: Who’s going to play me? Antonio Banderas? Javier Bardem?

That’s when he told me it was a documentary.

The film, We Feed People, turned out pretty well, I think. It was nominated for two Emmys! And Ron and I became good friends.

What did you think of We Feed People?

This is why I was able to persuade an amazing director like Ron to join me to talk about movies and, of course, food.

Ron did not grow up in a food-focused family. But as a young director he discovered quickly how important food could be. Listen in to find out how a rack of lamb—and his amazing wife, Cheryl—changed the course of cinema history.

And that’s not all. I’m going to answer listener questions and take you into my kitchen to make one of my favorite tapas: marinated olives. (The recipe will be available tomorrow for paid subscribers.)

From now on you will have no excuse not to have the perfect homemade gift for someone you love.

I hope you enjoy this one. And please let us know…I always love to hear your comments and suggestions!

Share Longer Tables with José Andrés

10 Comments
Longer Tables with José Andrés
Longer Tables with José Andrés
Longer Tables with José Andrés explores all the ways that food shapes our world and makes us who we are. In each episode, José talks to friends from the worlds of culinary and creative arts, politics, and media: Stacey Abrams, Ron Howard, Yo-Yo Ma, Eric Ripert, and Liev Schreiber, and more. He also takes listeners into his home kitchen to learn his favorite recipes, and answers their burning culinary questions.